PCDS Athletic Hall of Fame 2011 Inductees

1981 Varsity Baseball

2000 Girls’ Basketball

Stan Casselman
Michael DeMarzo
Greg Hoffman
James Levenson
Evan Lewis
Jeff Rollings
Matt Rollings
Eddie Shanken
Bobby Simonds
Ken Snodgrass
Bill Wrigley
Bob Kosower
Ashley Becker
Courtney Berg
Alexa Binns
Rachel Casselman
Liz Delgado
Sarah Engle
Elizabeth Engle
Cherilyn Gain
Hailey Harris
Courtney Lewis
Rebecca McLaren
Lindsay Tree
Tatum Vail
Ashley Yeargan
Caroline Young
Andy Kiltz
Scott Machen
Adam Zweiback

For the first time, Phoenix Country Day School honored two teams with induction into the Athletic Hall of Fame: the 1981 state championship varsity baseball team and the 2000 state championship girls’ basketball team. The entire teams’ rosters and coaches were honored. The fourth annual induction ceremony took place on Saturday morning during Homecoming Weekend, October 21-23. The brunch attracted a crowd of nearly 75 people, including many of the honored former PCDS athletes, coaches, and their families.

According to James Calleroz White, PCDS Director of Advancement, whose office hosted the event, the two championship squads were chosen based on several criteria including the significant impact they made on the PCDS athletic program, the recognition they received for their achievements locally, regionally and statewide, and the example team members set through their character, leadership, and dedication.

Bob Kosower, PCDS Athletic Director for 32 years and now Associate Athletic Director, coached the 1981 baseball team. He spoke about the championship season saying, “In the spring of 1981, I had a goal for our baseball team, to be the best that we could be. It was a magical season with great pitching performances, clutch hitting, and some defensive gems.” But his true emotion came through as he talked about the best 2-out-of-3 championship series against Judson School at Scottsdale Stadium. He described in detail the last inning, 4-run, come-from-behind rally in game 2, capped by a Bob Simonds line drive to left field that scored Greg Hoffman and brought PCDS the state title.

“It was a defining moment in the history of PCDS athletics. The best sight was seeing the celebration and how excited and happy everyone was,” Coach Kosower said.

The 2000 girls’ basketball team was honored not only for their state championship but also for a fabulous season, during which they set a state record with 34 wins. Brunch attendees were reminded of several accolades the team received that year, including Arizona Republic Coach of the Year for Andy Kiltz and Arizona Republic Player of the Year for Courtney Lewis. Both Lewis and her teammate, Sarah Engle, are past Hall of Fame honorees for their individual achievements.

Coach Kiltz praised the girls’ teamwork, saying he knew all during the season that they were a special group of athletes. Several members of the girls’ team had been at PCDS since Lower School and had played together for several years. The 2000 championship season was their fourth consecutive state tournament appearance. But what brought back the best memories was talk of the championship game, an overtime win over Thatcher at America West Arena (now US Airways Center). The entire school attended as well as many from the PCDS community. It was a great day for PCDS—as was Athletic Hall of Fame induction day, 2011.