Board of Trustees

Charting a course for the future of the school

The Phoenix Country Day School Board of Trustees is the policy-making body of the institution and is responsible for its fiscal well-being, its philosophy and objectives, and the effective implementation of its policies.

The Board is comprised of 18 regular members and three ex officio voting members. Ex officio members include the Headmaster, the President of the Alumni Association, and the President of the Parents’ Association. In addition, the Board has active Advisory Trustees who may attend Board meetings and serve on standing committees.

Among the Board’s many responsibilities is the selection and hiring of the Headmaster, who is in charge of the daily operation of the School. The Headmaster is responsible to the Trustees for implementing the School’s Mission Statement and Statement of Objectives. The Trustees are available to the Headmaster for encouragement, support, management perspective, and advice on governance issues.

The Board also has fiduciary responsibilities, which it fulfills by approving the School’s budget, approving major capital expenditures, and by ensuring the School’s fiscal well-being. The Board sets investment policies, approves insurance programs, and assesses the performance of the investment advisors. The Board identifies the means for funding student programs and support services and sets the goals for the annual fund campaign and major capital campaigns. Members of the Board also set the pace for individual donations and serve as the principal solicitors of major donations.

The PCDS Board of Trustees abides by the National Association of Independent Schools’ Principles of Good Practice.

Trustees' Standing Committees

The Board of Trustees has six standing committees. A Vice President, who sets the agenda and reports the committee's work at Board meetings, chairs each committee, with the exception of the Audit Committee, which is directed by an independent coordinator.

Advancement Committee

The Advancement Committee assists the School in raising financial contributions for new facilities, endowments, and annual giving. The Advancement Committee has oversight of capital campaigns and of each year’s Annual Fund. It approves mailings to solicit gifts and supervises Annual Reports that disclose the gifts from all constituencies and thank donors.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee assists the Board in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities for the financial reporting process, the completion of the audit process, the management of risk, and the School's process for monitoring compliance with laws, regulations, and fiduciary obligations.

Facilities Planning Committee

The Facilities Planning Committee oversees all physical facilities of the School. The committee approves all major expenditures for new campus resources and changes in present facilities. When appropriate, the Facilities Planning Committee takes its recommendations to the Finance/Investments Committee to be certain that funding is available for any project before it is recommended for approval by the full Board.

Finance Committee

The Finance & Investments Committee oversees the financial condition of the School. It approves all major expenditures as well as the annual budget submitted to it by the Headmaster and the Chief Financial Officer. The Finance/Investments Committee recommends to the full Board the proposed tuitions each year for approval. This committee oversees the School’s investments and reviews its annual financial audit. In addition, the committee reviews the recommendations of auditors and oversees the implementation of policies designed to financially strengthen the School.

Strategic Planning Committee

The Strategic Planning Committee, in concert with senior administrators, oversees the Strategic Plan. The committee monitors the implementation of the School’s plan and makes periodic reports to the Board on the plan’s status, including, but not limited to, constituency feedback and timing of the next process. Additionally, the Strategic Planning Committee educates the Board on particular challenges and successes related to the plan and its implementation.

Trusteeship Committee

The Trusteeship Committee recruits and trains new trustees as well as ensures the staffing of the Board’s Standing Committees by both trustees and non-trustee parents. The Trusteeship Committee exists to ensure the future leadership of the Board, including successful succession of the Presidency and Vice Presidencies. The Committee recommends trustees for election, renewal, and advisory status.

"Serving PCDS on the Board of Trustees is an honor. My colleagues and I are proud to support the School's mission and ensure the strength of the PCDS experience for years to come." – Tracy Brennan
Board President

Board of Trustees

Tracy Brennan
Charlene Whitfill
Executive Vice President,
Vice President,
Committee on Trusteeship
Taylor Burke
Vice President, Strategic Planning
Lou Werner ‘87
Vice President, Advancement
Michelle Hosmar
Vice President, Facilities Planning
David Lewis
Vice President, Finance/Operations
Charles W. Shields
Vice President, Finance
Darryl Berger
Don Dady
Adam Goodman
Donna Johnson
Mercedes Liljegren
Tim Louis ‘81
Jordan Rose
Margaux Rosen
Tracy Schwimmer
Daniel Silverman
Kiran Singh
Andrew Rodin*
Tiffany Pondelik ‘00*
President, Alumni Association
Marian Florey*
President, Parents’ Association
*ex officio

Advisory Trustees

Susan J. Bansak
Beverly Bradway
Daniel J. Donahoe III
Bennett Dorrance
Susan Garrity
Samuel Garvin
Bert Getz
Donald R. Loback
Nan P. Miller
Jahm Najafi
Ellie B. Nolan
Frederick M. Pakis
Nicholas J. Sakellariadis ‘69
Jonah Shacknai
Shoshana B. Tancer
Garth Wieger
Gay F. Wray